For The Love of More Pride & Prejudice

pride

Happy birthday, Pride and Prejudice!

Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s most popular novel and my favorite book of all time, was published today. The widespread acclaim of this novel has created a world full of book adaptations and sequels that have charmed us and will entertain us for years to come.

We can be here all day and list all the Pride and Prejudice variations out there. But let’s just list the ones that will make sure to delight us on this special day:

Continue reading “For The Love of More Pride & Prejudice”

Book Review: Memoirs of Emma Courtney by Mary Hays

Format: Paperback

Pages: 220 pages

Published: July 1, 2009 (First published 1796)

Publisher: Oxford University Press

Genre:  Fiction & Literature, Classics Continue reading “Book Review: Memoirs of Emma Courtney by Mary Hays”

Still Me by Jojo Moyes Released Today

35791968

It’s finally here!

Still Me, the sequel to the bestselling book Me Before You and After You is released today in bookstores!  Readers are reunited with Louisa Clark has she embarks on a new adventure in New York City. This time, we watch as Louisa tries to discover who she really is in this new environment.  Continue reading “Still Me by Jojo Moyes Released Today”

Book Review: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Americanah

Format:  Paperback

Pages: 589 pages

Published: May 14 , 2013

Publisher: Anchor

Genre: Fiction, Women’s Fiction

Continue reading “Book Review: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie”

Teen Read Week 2016

This week is the start of Teen Read Week, a national literacy event created by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) that tries to encourage teens to be regular readers and library users. This year’s slogan is “Read For The Of It!”

Being a young adult librarian, I can safely say that it is difficult to get teens to read, especially in this day and age. However, I try to stress to my teens the importance of not  only reading but the importance of the library. Without all this, they wouldn’t have a place to hang out, to feel safe. Coming to the library frequently and taking advantage of all the resources the library has to offer will help them succeed later in life and I try to instill that philosophy into the teens.

So I thought this was a perfect time to name the books that I read when I was a teenager (not all, we’ll be here all day!). I loved reading for fun, did it whenever I got a chance when I was a teenager.And these books are just a taste of all the different worlds I got to experience when I was a teen…

(All links lead to Goodreads.com)

  1. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

I always loved reading about magic and witchcraft, but this series not only creased my interest in reading that genre, but introduced me to Libba Bray who I found to be a great storyteller and never left me disappointed. She is probably one of the few YA authors I still read to this day.

 

 

 

 

2. Blue is For Nightmares Series by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Another great supernatural series! I waited in anticipation when the next one in the series would be released and I was sad when it ended. But this is a perfect example of series where it didn’t get too cheesy and knew when to end. It didn’t overdo it and that’s why I treasure this series close to my heart.

 

 

 

 

Continue reading “Teen Read Week 2016”

Book Review: The Trouble With Words by Suzie Tullett

unnamed Format: E-Book

Pages: 192 pages

Published: October 1, 2015

Publisher: Safkhet Publishing

Genre: Fiction & Literature, Women’s Fiction

Synopsis: 

Promises are easy to make but hard to keep.

Having long made a promise to her husband, young widow Annabel has no intentions of breaking it. What she does plan to do, though, is have a baby. Not the easiest of tasks for a woman with a deceased other half, and having explored all her options, her only choice is to take the unconventional route. Setting out to find her own donor, Annabel meets Dan. Single, fun-loving and definitely not looking for commitment, this unruly blonde, blue-eyed man seems perfect for the job.

Dan wants nothing more than to find his dream woman. But with a mother intent on sabotaging his every relationship, he can’t help but think he’s destined to remain single. Of course, he knows his mother doesn’t really want him all for herself, why else would she keep insisting he meet Maeve? Why else would she insist Dan promise to find himself a wife before she meets her maker?

Forced to negotiate matters of love, life and death, Annabel and Dan seem the answer to each other’s prayers. But will they really be able to keep the promises they made? And is having a baby really the answer?”

This was a very quick and enjoyable read. This book is all about promises, promises about the past, promises about the future. And it was just beautifully well done.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Trouble With Words by Suzie Tullett”

Book Review: Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot

23215471Format:  Paperback

Pages: 436 pages

Published: June 2, 2015

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

Genre: Fiction & Literature, Women’s Fiction

Synopsis:

For Princess Mia, the past five years since college graduation have been a whirlwind of activity, what with living in New York City, running her new teen community center, being madly in love, and attending royal engagements. And speaking of engagements. Mia’s gorgeous longtime boyfriend Michael managed to clear both their schedules just long enough for an exotic (and very private) Caribbean island interlude where he popped the question! Of course Mia didn’t need to consult her diary to know that her answer was a royal oui.

But now Mia has a scandal of majestic proportions to contend with: Her grandmother’s leaked “fake” wedding plans to the press that could cause even normally calm Michael to become a runaway groom. Worse, a scheming politico is trying to force Mia’s father from the throne, all because of a royal secret that could leave Genovia without a monarch. Can Mia prove to everyone—especially herself—that she’s not only ready to wed, but ready to rule as well?”

Continue reading “Book Review: Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot”

Book Review: The Perfect Comeback of Caroline Jacobs by Matthew Quick

23847945

Format:  E-book

Pages: 224 pages

Published: September 8, 2015

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press

Genre: Fiction & Literature, Women’s Fiction

Synopsis:

Caroline Jacobs is a wimp, someone who specializes in the suffering of tiny indignities in silence. And the big ones, too. But when the twinset wearing president of the local Parent Teacher Organization steps out of line one too many times, Caroline musters the courage to assert herself. With a four-letter word, no less.

Caroline’s outburst has awakened something in her. Not just gumption, but a realization that the roots of her tirade can be traced back to something that happened to her as a teenager, when her best friend very publicly betrayed her. So, with a little bit of bravery, Caroline decides to go back to her home town and tell off her childhood friend. She busts her daughter out of school, and the two set off to deliver the perfect comeback . . . some twenty-five years later. But nothing goes as planned. Long buried secrets rise to the surface, and Caroline finds she has to face much more than one old, bad best friend.”

“There’s no great dividing line between being a kid and an adult. We’re not all Caterpillar’s turning into butterflies. You are what you are. When you grow up, you may be more careful than when you were a kid. You don’t say what you think as much as you once did. You learn to play nice. But you’re still the same person who did good things or rotten things when you were young. Whether you feel good about them or bad…whether you regret them. Well, that’s a different thing. But it’s not like they disappear forever.”

That is just one of the amazing quotes from this great novel. I really did not expect to like this book this much. I was expecting light fluff that would leave me wanting more and asking questions. That is definitely not the case here. I finished this book in 2 days! That’s how good it was. It had all of the makings of a great novel: funny, charming, adventurous, and heartfelt. I was immediately hooked from the very first page and from then on I could not it down.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Perfect Comeback of Caroline Jacobs by Matthew Quick”

Weekly Tea Discussion: Chick Lit

Books_Cups_Grass_Tea_Cup

Even just typing out that term makes me cringe.

I mean, what does it really mean? This is the definition according to Wikipedia:

Chick lit is genre fiction which addresses issues of modern womanhood, often humorously and lightheartedly.”

Okay…that can describe most books and they are generally not considered to be “chick lit”. When you hear that definition, you think to yourself “That doesn’t sound so bad”. But then you hear this definition of chick lit, from a publisher no less, who changes your whole perception of the genre.This is a definition from the Harlequin imprint Red Dress Ink:

Red Dress Ink is a literary collection created in 2001 in the United States and published by Harlequin Editions since June 2003 in France, of which gender is the chick lit ‘: contemporary and urban comedies with unmarried heroines and thirties.”

Granted, this definition came from a Wikipedia entry and was in French but the impact of the statement is just the same: the term “chick lit” is a bit degrading. Continue reading “Weekly Tea Discussion: Chick Lit”

Book Review: Don’t Get Me Wrong by Marianne Kavanagh

25074607

Format: Paperback

Pages: 352 pages

Published: August 25, 2015

Publisher: The Text Publishing Company

Genre: Fiction/Literature, Women’s Fiction

 

 

 

Synopsis:

For fans of Jojo Moyes, David Nicholls, and Sophie Kinsella, here is a Pride and Prejudice for the modern era: Londoners Kim and Harry can’t see eye to eye…until the life of the person they both love most hangs in the balance.

Kim and Harry are total opposites who happen to have the same favorite people in the world: Kim’s older sister, Eva, and her young son, Otis. Kim has never seen what her free-spirited big sister sees in a stuck-up banker like Harry and has spent her childhood trying to keep him out (must he always drive the most ostentatious cars and insist on charming everyone he meets?), while Harry’s favorite occupation is provoking Kim.

Both Harry and Kim are too stuck in their prejudices to care about what’s really going on beneath the surface of each other’s lives. They’ll never understand each other—until the worst of all tragedy strikes. Faced with the possibilities of losing the person they both love most, long-buried secrets come to a head in ways that will change both Harry and Kim forever.

As in her “hilarious, poignant, and profound” (Daily Mail) novel For Once in My Life, Marianne Kavanagh tackles the bonds of family, friendship, and love through sophisticated storytelling. Don’t Get Me Wrong is a witty and heartwarming book that will charm readers everywhere”

I was interested in this novel with the Pride and Prejudice connection made with this story. Of course it was a marketing ploy, nevertheless I was intrigued. Let me just be clear: this is not a Pride and Prejudice modern retelling, far from it. Kim and Harry’s relationship slightly mimics Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy beginning courtship. And I do mean slightly. Continue reading “Book Review: Don’t Get Me Wrong by Marianne Kavanagh”