Winners of the 2021 Waterstone Children’s Book Prize

The UK bookseller, Waterstones, has just announced the 2021 winners of their Children’s Book Prize. This award, which is chosen by Waterstones’ booksellers, honors emerging writers of exceptional talent and are blooming in the children’s writing industry.

Here are the winners:

Overall Winner of Children’s Book Prize and Best Book for Younger Readers

A Kind of Spark by Elle McNicoll

A Kind of Spark tells the story of 11-year-old Addie as she campaigns for a memorial in memory of the witch trials that took place in her Scottish hometown. Addie knows there’s more to the story of these ‘witches’, just like there is more to hers.

Can Addie challenge how the people in her town see her, and make her voice heard? A story about friendship, courage and self-belief, perfect for fans of The Goldfish Boy, Addie’s story was born from Elle’s own experiences of neurodiversity and her commitment to seeing greater representation in children’s books. (Credit: Knights Of Media)

Best Illustrated Book

The Grumpy Fairies by Bethan Stevens

Deep in the darkest forests, under rustling leaves, live the fairies. You probably think that fairies are good, kind and sweet. Well, a lot of them are. These helpful fairies take care of the forest and they’re happy to do it. But I’m sorry to tell you that some of the fairies, particularly the littlest ones, are GRUMPY.

I mean proper grumpy. 
I mean foot-stompy, frowny, bottom-lip-sticking-outy kind of grumpy.
I mean ‘it’s just one of those days’ grumpy.

But these grumpy fairies better watch out. There’s a goblin about, and grumpy fairies happen to be a goblin’s favourite food…

This wonderful, funny debut will bring a smile to the smallest (and grumpiest) of children. (Credit: Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd )

Best Book for Older Readers

Wranglestone by Darren Charlotn

In a post-apocalyptic America, a community survives in a national park, surrounded by water that keeps the Dead at bay. But when winter comes, there’s nothing to stop them from crossing the ice.

Then homebody Peter puts the camp in danger by naively allowing a stranger to come ashore and he’s forced to leave the community of Wranglestone. Now he must help rancher Cooper, the boy he’s always watched from afar, herd the Dead from their shores before the lake freezes over. But as love blossoms, a dark discovery reveals the sanctuary’s secret past. One that forces the pair to question everything they’ve ever known.


Published by karma2015

I was born and raised in New York. I still live in New York but kind of sick of the city and one day I wish to move to the UK.I have a Masters degree in Library Science and I currently work in a special collections library. I loved books ever since I was a little girl. Through the hard times in my life, my love for books has always gotten me through. Just entering another world different from my own intrigues me. As long as I am entering in another universe, I like to create my own as well. I love to write and hopefully I will be able to complete a novel.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: