Great Audiobook Listens for the Summer

June is Audiobook Month! I love listening to audiobooks. You can listen to them while you are cooking, exercising, commuting…just with so many activities! When I hit a wall in my reading, audiobooks are a great way to get back into it. The narrators do amazing job telling these stories that you as the “listener” feel just as compelling and engaging if you were reading it in print. Whether you are looking for your first audiobook to listen to or great recommendations to get your summer off on the right start, here some audio listens that show why audiobooks are truly awesome:

The Midnight Library by Matt Haig

Narrated by Carey Mulligan

Although this book was released last year, it continues to make an impact and rising in the bestselling charts. If you are looking for that uplifting and powerful story of the summer, you can’t go wrong with this one!

Ariadne by Jennifer Saint

Narrated by Barrie Kreinik

Hypnotic, propulsive, and utterly transporting, Jennifer Saint’s Ariadne forges a new epic, one that puts the forgotten women of Greek mythology back at the heart of the story, as they strive for a better world. (Credit: Flatiron Books)

A Peculiar Combination by Ashley Weaver

Narrated by Alison Larkin

If you are a fan of historical mysteries, then this definitely one you should not miss! Full of wit and adventure, A Peculiar Combination provides reader with an engaging story that they’ll be sad when they reach the end of the book. A refreshing book for the genre!

Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Narrated by: Tapiwa Mugweni & Jeanette Illidge

Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully. (Credit: Feiwel & Friends)

The Road Trip by Beth O’Leary

Narrated by Josh Dylan & Eleanor Tomlinson

Two exes reach a new level of awkward when forced to take a road trip together in this endearing and humorous novel by the author of the international bestseller The Flatshare. (Credit: Penguin Random House)

The Other Black Girl by Zakiya Dalila Harris

Narrated by Aja Naomi King, Joniece Abbott-Pratt, Heather Alicia Simms & Bahni Turpin

Urgent, propulsive, and sharp as a knife, The Other Black Girl is an electric debut about the tension that unfurls when two young Black women meet against the starkly white backdrop of New York City book publishing. (Credit: Simon & Schuster)

The Thursday Murder Club by Richard Osman

Narrated by Lesley Manville

In a peaceful retirement village, four unlikely friends meet weekly in the Jigsaw Room to discuss unsolved crimes; together they call themselves the Thursday Murder Club.

When a local developer is found dead with a mysterious photograph left next to the body, the Thursday Murder Club suddenly find themselves in the middle of their first live case.

As the bodies begin to pile up, can our unorthodox but brilliant gang catch the killer, before it’s too late?

The Jigsaw Man by Nadine Matheson

Narrated by Davine Henry

A great pick for James Patterson fans, this book is filled with chills and thrills that you will have a hard time putting this one down…and falling asleep at night.

The Betrayals by Bridget Collins

Narrated by Bridget Collins, Sam Woolf & Sarah Ovens

An intricate and utterly spellbinding literary epic brimming with enchantment, mystery, and dark secrets from the highly acclaimed author of the #1 international bestseller The Binding. (Credit: William Morrow & Company)

Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley

Narrated by Isabella Star LaBlanc

A groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange. (Credit: Henry Holt & Company)

Where Hope Comes From: Poems of Resilience, Healing and Light by Nikita Gill

Narrated by Nikita Gill

You can’t have a summer without poetry and Nikita Gill’s new collection of poetry will be just the ticket!

The Crossing by Manjeet Mann

Narrated by Kimberley Capero and Ahmed Hamad

A trailblazing new novel about two teenagers from opposite worlds; The Crossing is a heartbreaking and life-affirming story of hope, grief, and the very real tragedies of the refugee crisis. (Credit: Penguin UK)


Where You Can Get Audiobooks (Alternative to Amazon)

You see all these great titles and you are probably thinking to yourself: how can I listen to these awesome books? Well, here are some highly recommended platforms that will be perfect for your audiobook needs:

Libro.Fm

A great subscription service of audiobooks, where your monthly fee supports a local independent bookstore of your choice!

LibriVox

This is a wonderful site that is great for readers who love the classics. LibriVox provides free audiobooks of titles that are in the public domain. They are read from volunteers by volunteers all around the world.

Your Local Library

Did you know you can check out audiobooks for free from your library? Your local library is a great way to browse through a slew of popular titles and new releases. Depending on what your library uses, a lot of libraries uses popular sites like Overdrive, Cloud Library and BorrowBox.


3 thoughts on “Great Audiobook Listens for the Summer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s