Free Virtual Library Programs: April

Are you looking for online programs to attend? Here are some interesting library programs I’m co-hosting and programs that are being put together by my fellow co-workers. All of them are free to attend! You don’t need to be a member of the library to attend. All you have to do is register at the corresponding link and the meeting information will be sent to you the day before the event.

Hope to see you all there!

Poetry Discussion: We Want Our Bodies Back – Friday, April 9 at 1 PM

Join Wakefield and Eastchester YA Librarians in a poetry discussion featuring We Want Our Bodies Back by Jessica Care Moore. We will be reading and analyzing selected excerpts. This work of poetry encompass different intersections of Black Womanhood, and April being Poetry Month, it’s the perfect time to discuss them.

This program is open to teens, ages 16 and up.

Register here.

Virtual Comics Chat – Thursday, April 15 at 3:30 PM

Join us as three librarians talk about some of our personal favorite comics that we hope you’ll check out! This month,  we will offer suggestions on titles to start reading about nature (for Earth Day) and nonfiction comics.

Register here.

Verse Reads: Poetry Reads for Teens – Monday, April 19 at 4 PM

April is poetry month! To celebrate we are sharing our favorite poetry books and books in verse. Books in verse are when instead of writing a story using conventional paragraphs the author has written a long form continuous poem to tell the tale. A Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds and Poet X are examples of novels in verse! We’ll also share some of out favorite poems and a poetry prompt to get your creative minds going.”

Register here.

Dueling Detectives: Stranded with a Killer – Tuesday, April 20 at 3 PM

Come and attend a lively discussion about one of our favorite tropes, a cast of characters gets stranded in an isolated place and start turning up murdered one by one. Librarians from Van Nest and Epiphany will be debate on which killer they would want to be stranded with, while giving book recommendations along the way! Perfect for fans of And Then There Were None and Clue.

Register here.

Romancing in Color: A Cowboy to Remember– Wednesday, April 21 at 2 PM

Join Wakefield and Van Nest Staff as we read romances about and by women of color.  For our inaugural program, we will be reading A Cowboy to Remember by Rebekah Weatherspoon, book one in the “Cowboys of California” series.  The book centers around an amnesiac celebrity chef and her would-be cowboy first love.  The two are reunited and aim for a second chance at love.

Read more  of the blurb and place the book on hold here: A Cowboy to Remember by Rebekah Weatherspoon

Register here

Virtual Book Tasting – Friday, April 30 at 3 PM

Need a new book for the month? Then come to our Virtual Book Tasting! Get a “taste” of a variety of new and popular books. Come and hear about the great books from our librarians that are in our collection!

Register here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s