Book Review: Delivered by Sylvia Hehir

Format: Paperback

Pages: 180 pages

Published: November 28, 2020

Publisher: Garmoran Publishing

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Synopsis:

Frankie – the sorted one. Until, that is, she is persuaded by her boyfriend to join his band for a summer tour. She has enjoyed playing fiddle for years but has always been too nervous to get up on stage. Then, as they are all set to go, her estranged older sister reappears, demanding Frankie’s help. A sequel to Deleted, Delivered is perfect for fans of Holly Bourne, Sophie Kinsella and Rainbow Rowell (Credit: Garmoran Publishing)


This one was much better than the first book. The story was both engaging and entertaining. Unlike with Deleted, I did not find it difficult to follow the story. Character development could have been a bit more, but it was sufficient to understand the tale and get a real feel about what is going on. Frankie’s tenacity and determination shine through in this tale. But her caring nature and frustration, particularly with her family, deserves to be noted. That is what makes her so realistic.

The theme of family is very dominant here. In this family dynamic, Frankie is the peacekeeper, trying to dispel any disagreements that occur in her family. But the theme of independence is shown here. Kiera fled her family to make a name for herself. Frankie also escaped to not only make a name for herself but to find a niche of her own. But the theme of home is also a dominant one. The fact that returning home is when problems can get resolved is something that most readers can identify. I wish the sisterly relationship elaborated and expanded more for readers. There is a lot of friction between Kiera and Frankie, and I want it explored more.

The story was fast-paced but easy and eloquent enough for anyone to read. The plot was fun, relaxing narrative to read. I found myself having a hard time putting it down, but also not burdened by the fact that I might encounter an unhappy ending. It was one of those comforts reads you could read when you are stressed. The structure was consistent, nothing compared to its predecessor. I was able to follow the story much more straightforward. My only problem is that though it was a sequel, the premonition/magical realism did not mesh well with the overall feeling of the story.

I enjoyed this better than Deleted. I love the music atmosphere but also the characters came alive in this one. It gave a nice break from everything that is going on. My one wish is that the characters developed more and the relationship between Kiera and Frankie dived into more. Before diving into this one, readers will have to read the previous book. Although this book does contain some elements that it can be standalone, Delivered does have characters and allude to events that happened in the last novel, allusions that can confuse the reader.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

One thought on “Book Review: Delivered by Sylvia Hehir

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s