If You Like Jane Austen, Then You’ll Like…

You finished reading all of Jane Austen’s books. Wondering what is the next step? Read them all over again! Just kidding, although you could if you wanted to. However, if you want to read books either similar to her writing style or books based in the same era, why not gives these a try:

7923473

 

Helen by Maria Edgeworth

An author admired by Austen herself, this book reminded me a combination of Northanger Abbey and Lady Susan. This gripping romantic drama will have you entertained for hours.

 

 

156538

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

Elizabeth Gaskell is a fantastic writer and she was able to fuse an interesting story with two main characters that have similar characteristics to Elizabeth and Darcy. Just think Pride and Prejudice with a mixture of social concern thrown in.

 

 

 

 

37638

 

Evelina by Frances Burney

A coming of age story told in epistolary format. Austen was an admirer of Burney and you can tell by the similarities between the both of them. Like Austen, Burney used her writing as an attack of the fashionable life late 18th century London. Enjoy Evelina’s adventure of her entry into this world-wind society.

 

6403021

 

Belinda by Maria Edgeworth

Another popular one by Edgeworth. This comical novel goes on Belinda’s journey of London’s high society. You’ll again find some similarities with Austen’s other works.

 

 

 

10210

 

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Although this was written in a different time period and Brontë was never a fan of Austen’s work, this is a definite read after reading Austen. Their writings are so different but their ideals and characterization are so alike that you can’t go wrong with this next read.

 

 

120482

 

A Room with a View by E.M. Forster

I never read anything by E.M. Forster before reading this. But I am so glad I took the chance. This book was amazing! Forster’s wit and humor reminds me a little of Jane Austen’s writings. And his use of imagery and symbolism is astounding. A very good read!

 

 

 

507157

 

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Although the theme of revenge plays a major part, a deeper discussion of passionate love’s affect on human nature plays a part. It doesn’t match with any of Austen’s books but some Austen fans might find it an enjoyable read.

 

 

 

229438

 

The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe

See why Austen made fun of this book in Northanger Abbey! This book and it might take a long time to get into but Austen will enjoy the descriptive imagery and the gripping plot. You can read my full book review, found here.

 

 

 

8498570

 

The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott

Louisa May Alcott’s first story, this story has aspects that any Austen fan will enjoy: an English country manor, romance, deception, duplicity, and family secrets. You will definitely enjoy this unknown treasure.

 

 

 

38262

Moll Flanders by Daniel Defoe

This novel is very different in comparison with Austen’s works but this strong, self-assured woman will be admired by most readers.

One thought on “If You Like Jane Austen, Then You’ll Like…

  1. Definitely agree with Evelina and North and South (I’d throw in Gaskell’s Wives and Daughters as well). I see why the Brontes would appeal to an Austen fan but they are very different, as you said. I’m adding a few of the books I haven’t read to my TBR. Helen looks really intriguing….
    I’ll add recommendations for
    Love in A Cold Climate and The Pursuit of Love by Nancy Mitford
    Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons
    I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
    Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
    All deal with similar themes to Austen: marriage, family, love, money, social class, status, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s